The G.D. Birla International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Humanism was instituted by the Birla Academy of Art & Culture in 1987, to be presented biennially.

In 1992, to widen its scope, the award was split into three categories for Outstanding Contribution to: 1. Humanism, 2. Uplift of Rural and Tribal Communities, 3. Preservation of India's Heritage & Culture.

Nominations for these awards are invited through advertisements in newspapers and directly from prominent personalities in different walks of life.

All nominations are then screened by the Award Secretariat, headed by the Convenor. A list of deserving candidates, with their profiles are submitted to members of the Jury and final selection is made at a meeting of the Jury headed by the Vice-President of India.

The 2000 G.D. Birla International Award for Preservation of India's Heritage & Culture has been awarded to Pramukh Swami Maharaj and BAPS. The Jury for this year's award comprised of: H.E. Krishna Kant - Vice-President of India, Dr. (Mrs.) Kapila Vatsyayana, Dr. Raja Ramanna, Acharya Vishnukant Shastri and Dr. L.M. Singhvi.

At a special presentation ceremony on 21 July 2001 the Vice-President of India, H.E. Krishna Kant, made the presentation to Janak Dave, on behalf of BAPS, at the residence of the Vice-President in New Delhi.

© 1999-2024 Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha (BAPS Swaminarayan Sanstha), Swaminarayan Aksharpith | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Feedback |   RSS