Continuing on the success of last year's Diwali & Annakut Celebrations, the Parliament of Victoria hosted a four day long Diwali Celebration this year, from 19 to 22 October, at Parliament House. 

The inauguration event on 19th October 2015 began with three traditional rituals - deep pragatya, singing of thal, and arti. Among the notable guests present for this inauguration event were MP Lily D’Ambrosio, Minister for Industry, Energy and Resources (representing Hon. Daniel Andrews, the Premier of Victoria); MP Matthew Guy, Leader of Liberal Party and ex-manager of Government Relations for the Australian Securities and Investment Commission; MLC Craig Ondarchie, Shadow Minister for Trade, Investment and Jobs, (representing MLC Bruce Atkinson, President of the Legislative Council); MP Telmo Languiller, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Mr. Nirmal Kumar Chawdhary, Head of Chancery & Vice Consul Consul-General of India for Indian Embassy in Victoria and various distinguished community leaders and members of various participating Indian associations.

The traditional rituals were followed by a vibrant demonstration of Indian culture through chanting of devotional songs, traditional dance performances, video presentations on the rich heritage of Indian culture and an insight into Diwali – the festival of lights, all wonderfully depicted by various Indian organisations followed by a traditional Indian dinner.

From 20 to 22 October 2015, the Queen Victoria Hall at the Parliament of Victoria House witnessed marvelous exhibitions by various Indian organisations, each depicting the wealth of heritage that Indian culture holds through an insight into the festivals, rituals, traditions, and essence of the Indian culture.

The highlight of this four day long celebration was the offering of Annakut to the deities. In total, 99 vegetarian delicacies were artistically assembled and presented in the form of Annakut to God. The events were organised by BAPS and other Indian organisations, with BAPS volunteers participating actively. 


© 1999-2022 Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha (BAPS Swaminarayan Sanstha), Swaminarayan Aksharpith | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Feedback |   RSS