One of the most eagerly anticipated sporting events of the year for yuvaks arrived on Saturday 1 October 2011. The fifth Yagnapurush Cup provided a fun and healthy day out for everyone. This year, the five-a-side football tournament was held at The JJB Soccer Dome in Derby, providing a more central location for the 21 teams travelling from around the country. The tournament was inaugurated with the traditional deep pragatya in the presence of Prabuddhmuni Swami and sadhus.

The tournament began with tremendous enthusiasm, competitiveness and a few shock results, but above all, it was alive with fun, teamwork and sportsmanship throughout. With a high quality of football on display for all to enjoy, the support for the teams was equally good. The top two teams in each group qualified for the main Yagnapurush Cup, with the third- and fourth-placed teams entering the Pragji Cup. Last year’s holders – BAPS Maintenance – eventually crashed out at the quarter-final stage against Harrow & Brent A along with another tournament favourite South London A, who were shocked by a determined Birmingham A.

The semi-finals produced some tense moments with penalty shootouts between Leicester and Southend where for the second successive match, Amit – the Leicester keeper – made brilliant saves to take his team in the final of the Yagnapurush Cup while Harrow & Brent A defeated Birmingham A quite comfortably. The two finals were played out with North London taking on Nottingham for the Pragji Cup and Harrow & Brent A taking on the surprise team of the tournament Leicester for the main Yagnapurush Cup.

After some twists and turns, North London emerged as winners of the Pragji Cup.

The final of the Yagnapurush Cup was tense and filled with excitement. Leicester opened the scoring against the favourites Harrow & Brent A. However, Harrow & Brent A equalised just before the end of the first half only to concede straight from the restart and once again fall behind. The second half began with both teams knowing the next goal would be crucial, and it went Harrow & Brent A’s way with the tournament’s top scorer Sandip Patel equalising. With time running out and the match heading towards extra time, Hari Patel, player of the tournament, scored for Harrow & Brent A to give them the lead for the first time in the match. The final whistle blew moments later to crown Harrow & Brent A as winners of the Yagnapurush Cup 2011.

The successful tournament concluded with the closing ceremony, held collectively in the presence of Yogvivek Swami and sadhus.


Harrow & Brent A
Golden Boot
Sandip Patel (Harrow & Brent A)
Best Keeper
Himanshu Patel (Harrow & Brent A)

Amit Makwana (Leicester)

Pritesh Patel (Southend on Sea)
Player of the Tournament
Hari V. Patel (Harrow & Brent A)


North London
Golden Boot
Ghanshyam Limbachia (Preston B)
Best Keeper
Arpit Naik (North London)
Player of the Tournament
Rushit Patel (South London C)

© 1999-2024 Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha (BAPS Swaminarayan Sanstha), Swaminarayan Aksharpith | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Feedback |   RSS