One of the most eagerly anticipated kishore events of the year – The Amrut Cup 5-a-side Football Tournament – was held in glorious summer sunshine at Goals Soccer Centre in Perry Bar, Birmingham on Saturday 10 July 2010.

Following the series of group matches, the quarter-final matches involved all the expected teams. Runners-up from 2008, Leicester B beat Nottingham B 1-0, and one of the big contenders, North (London) A, comfortably beat Nottingham A 2- 0, demonstrating a class of defending and attacking in numbers. Harrow A built an astonishing 3-0 lead against West (London), before a patient response from West proved fruitless, with Harrow running out 3-2 winners and securing their fifth semi-final in the last six years. The heavyweight clash between Leicester A and South (London) A produced an evenly-contested game with great levels of strength and composure shown by both teams. Leicester eventually won the tie 2-0 with strikes from Nikesh Patel and Prashant Patel.

The semi-finals were highly entertaining and exciting, with all four teams playing great football. Both semis were the closest they have been for a long time. North A and Leicester B played a gripping end-to-end game with North A missing two excellent chances, and Leicester B hitting the crossbar and post. Just as the match was set to go to extra time and possibly penalties, Tapas Thakker clinched the tie with a clinical finish following a great move by North A, who won 1-0 to book a place in the final after six years.

The second semi-final was the latest in a series of epic encounters between two of the stalwarts of the competition, Harrow A and Leicester A. Once again it was a very tightly fought contest, with both teams showing great speed, skill and commitment. After great efforts by each team to get the crucial first goal, Nikesh Patel of Leicester broke the deadlock with a wonderful hit, ensuring Leicester A made their mark, yet again, reaching their sixth final in the last decade.

The Amrut Cup final between North A and Leicester A was a close match filled with outstanding saves and high emotions. Both teams showed their class and skill, making the match tough to call. With the scores locked at 0-0, the game was leading to a penalty shoot-out, the first in Amrut Cup history. However, with less than a minute left on the clock, a killer strike by Hiten Patel of Leicester A put the defending champions in front and left North A’s dreams hanging in the balance. Soon after, the final whistle was blown and Leicester A had become the first team in history to win the Amrut Cup in three successive years. Congratulations to Leicester A, who have now won the title more times than any other team.

In the Nilkanth Cup, Harrow B won the title the first time in their history, beating South B 1-0 in the final.

Prizes were also awarded to exceptional individual performers. Hari Patel of Leicester A won the Golden Boot with an outstanding tally of 15 goals. The award for Best Goalkeeper was won by Dweej Bhatt of North A. Dharmesh ST Patel from North A won the coveted Player of the Tournament award for his outstanding performances throughout the tournament that helped carry his team to the final.

It proved to be an enthralling day for both the players and the avid supporters. On display throughout the tournament was a great level of talent and brotherhood, with football being played in the highest of spirits among kishores coming together from around the country. A special thank you to Birmingham Mandal for being great hosts as ever.




Runners Up

Amrut Cup

Leicester A

North London A

Nilkanth Cup

Harrow B

South London B


Individual Award


Golden Boot

Hari Patel (Leicester A)

Best Goalkeeper

Dweej Bhatt (North London A)

Player of the Tournment

Dharmesh ST Patel (North London A)

© 1999-2024 Bochasanwasi Shri Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha (BAPS Swaminarayan Sanstha), Swaminarayan Aksharpith | Privacy Policy | Terms & Conditions | Feedback |   RSS